Back from Sicily and a small update


So I got back from Sicily last week. I went there for volunteer work, did a lot of gardening. To be honest, it wasn’t as much fun as Bulgaria was, but still pretty cool nonetheless. The other volunteers and I took a lot of pictures, and we haven’t shared them with each other yet (didn’t have access to a computer with the correct cardreaders). Look for some photo’s here soon.

I also have an update on the rig. The facerig is done, all the controls have nice shapes now, and everything just works nicely. There is a slight “issue” with the toes that I might solve for a small additional amount of freedom, but there is apparently a new constraint in the latest build of blender that might have me remove the footroll bone and add footroll functionality to the heel bone instead. Which means I have to rethink the foot setup. Then again, the footroll as it is now doesn´t get in the way of the foot control, while the heel might, so I might leave it and just make the toes controllable.

So yeah the rig works, gotta skin the character to it, make textures, cleanup, etc…. I might also make another rig system for the eyes, one that is for an actual spherical eye, instead of the flat planes of this character. So people with a character with real eyes can use that system instead. I also wanna model more props.

EDIT: not enough for a new post, some bugfixes in the eyes, found some new bugs to squash, and a few new images under “read the rest of this entry”.

rig with just IK controls, and both IK and FK

look, it's wing tsjun!

"I don't trust this" expression

3 thoughts on “Back from Sicily and a small update

Leave a Reply

